

Fire Management Board Meeting Minutes – 20 September 2017

	Executive Board: Bill Kaage (NPS), Chris Wilcox (FWS), Grant Beebe (BLM), Erin Horsburgh (OWF), Kim Christensen fo			
FMB	FMB Larry Sutton, Chair (USFS), Keith Raley (OAS), Lisa Elenz (USFS), Aitor Bidaburu (USFA), Aaron Baldwin (BIA). Not pres			
Participants	ticipants Mark Lichtenstein (USFS).			
	Staff: Krysta Shultz (Executive Secretary), Paul Schlobohm (NWCG FMB Liaison)			
Other	Other Steve Manthei (WFIT Program Manager), Roshelle Pederson (Chair, NWCG Data Standards and Terminology			
Participants	Participants Subcommittee).			

Meeting handouts are available upon request via email at <u>blm fa fmb executive secretary@blm.gov</u>

ltem	Торіс	Presenter	Action Taken
1	Welcome, Agenda Review	Paul Schlobohm	N/A
2	FMB 2017/2018 Program of Work	Larry Sutton	Postponed until October
3	Alignment of terminology definitions in the Guidance for Implementation of Federal Wildland Fire Management Policy, 2009; the Red Book; and the NWCG Glossary. Status report and discussion of FMB expectations	Paul Schlobohm Bill Kaage	Board members given a brief overview of the discrepancies of terminology found in the Guidance for Implementation of Federal Wildland Fire Management Policy, 2009, the Redbook, and the NWCG Glossary. Will work to determine best mechanism to re-release direction to follow the 2009 Policy information via FMB. Paul has lead.
4	FEC request of NWCG and NWCG's response for wildland fire qualifications standards review. Status report.	Paul Schlobohm	Board members briefed on the National Interagency Qualifications for Wildland Fire Response letter sent to NWCG by Shawna Legarza, Bryan Rice, and Jim Karels. NWCG has been formally tasked to address the request with response by December 2018.
5	 Fire Management Board leadership model: 1) Shared rotation schedule and changes by NWCG Executive Board. 2) Vice-Chair Selection 	Paul Schlobohm	 Rotation schedule will remain the same as the BIA will be resuming the Chair responsibility for NWCG in Jan 2018. BLM will be the Vice-Chair for FMB.